Presentation of the Lord – February 2nd

dcbae858a336723e7bd8e63f28533951

“Behold, this child is destined for the fall and rise of many in Israel, and to be a sign that will be contradicted (and you yourself a sword will pierce) so that the thoughts of many hearts may be revealed.”

Luke 2

 

The Pain of Mary
by Henry Suso

From the Booklet of the Eternal Wisdom

Pure Lady and noble Queen of heaven and earth, touch my petrified heart with one of the warm tears that you poured for the bitter trouble of your tender Son, under the poor cross, so that this heart becomes more tender and can understand you; in fact the passion of the heart is of such nature that nobody knows it well, apart from who has experienced it. Ah, and now move my heart, elect Lady, with your sad expressions and tell me with little meaningful words, which I can remember, what you felt and what you did under the cross, when you saw your tender Son, the beautiful Eternal Wisdom, dying so painfully.

ANSWER: You must feel it as complain and pain in your heart; even if I am free from every suffering now, I was not in that time.
Before arriving under the cross I had felt some large inexpressible pains, especially when I had the first vision of my son maltreated, brutally hit: because of that I lost my strength and so worn out I was lead, under the cross, following my loved son. But your question, that is what I felt and what I did, feel it yourself as far as you can; there is no heart which can feel it completely.

You see, all sufferings a heart ever felt, compared with the unfathomable pain my heart felt in that time, would be like a water drop towards the sea. Therefore understand the following: dearer the Beloved is, more lovable and sweeter (towards us) he is and more unbearable His loss and His death are. Now, whenever was a so tender one born on the earth? Wherever was a more lovable one seen than my unique and lovable Beloved for whom and in whom I had absolutely all that this world could give? Already I was died on my own as I lived with Him, and as soon as my beautiful love was killed, only then I died completely. Like my unique Beloved was unique and He was love beyond every love, so my unique suffering was unique and suffering beyond any other suffering of which it was ever spoken. His beautiful, shining humanity was a lovable sight for me, His worthy divinity was a sweet sight for my eyes, thinking of Him was joy for my heart, speaking about Him was my pastime, listening to His words was like a sound of Harp for my soul. It was the mirror of my heart, the delight of my soul: the reigns of Heaven and earth with all their content, I possessed at His presence. Read more…

Leave a Reply

